Hatton 10 TT Handicap Event

We said adios to the 2017 Frodsham Wheelers and Runcorn CC Interclub TT season on Saturday 16th September with the inter-club Handicap

hatton 10 time trial handicap medal winners
Medal & trophy winners from Runcorn Cycle Club and Frodsham Wheelers.

The inaugural season on the Hatton TT course was a huge success with good rider numbers each week and plenty of friendly banter between the two clubs.

Mike Leadbeater time trial rider
Mike Leadbeater passing the start line on lap 2 at Summer Lane.

The weather fairies were kind to us after Storm Aileen rattled through the UK earlier in the week. However, the weekend was the turn off FWCC and RCC to rattle through the quiet country lanes of Hatton. Well at least for an hour or two.

john flynn roy forster hatton 10 time trial handicap
John Flynn and Roy Forster ready to race.

The handicap was based on the fastest course time of 22:23 set by RCC’s Rob Green during the 2017 inter-club events and with near perfect conditions, we were hopeful of some good times.

hatton-10 time trial handicap junior marshal
A junior marshal ready to cheer on the riders.

Everyone who took part put in a good shift on the day. Although, surprisingly a lot of people were off the pace of their season best. This was to make it all the more exciting as anyone who put in a personal best was in with a shout of winning the event.

dave arundale medal winner
Dave Arundale receiving his medal.

RCC’s Andy Baiker came away with the honours with a winning time of 22:15. Wheelers’ Dave Arundale was 2nd with 22:23 and RCC’s Alex Buckley 3rd with 22:25. You’ll see from the pictures, Dave Arundale looks pretty impressed with his medal. 🙂

hatton 10 time trial handicap trophy winner
Medal & trophy winners from Runcorn Cycle Club and Frodsham Wheelers.

Refreshments, cakes and pastries were provided free of charge for all entrants and supporters during the presentations. We fed what’s was left over to the kids. And yes we were scraping them off the ceiling that evening due to all the sugar.

winner andy baiker hatton 10 tt handicap 2017
Hatton 10 Handicap TT Winner 2017 — Andy Baiker.

A trophy for the overall winner was presented to Andy Baiker along with medals for 1st, 2nd & 3rd placed male and females on the day.

hatton 10 time trial winners trophy 2017
Winners Trophy — Hatton 10 Handicap TT 2017.

andy baiker rob green time trial riders
Andy Baiker and Rob Green.

Team RCC captain, Rob Green, was also presented with the Inter-Club TT trophy after RCC finished ahead in the points table for 2017. RCC also presented Rob Green and Amy Connor with awards for the Fastest Man & Woman in Runcorn, while also acknowledging young Nathan Hampson and Jess McCann for the Most Improved Male & Female in RCC for 2017.

hatton 10-time trial handicap junior medal winner
Nathan Hampson, medal winner.

It’s been a fab event to run during 2017, although the organisers are grateful for the break now. Planning will take place during the winter to explore ways to improve and promote the event for an even better 2018. We would like to thank all the volunteers who gave up their time to help run the event, we couldn’t have done it without you.

dave arundale mike leadbeater hatton 10 time trial
Dave Arundale and Mike Leadbeater celebrating after their superb efforts in the race.

Have a fab winter, keep up the training and lets start 2018 by hitting the ground running.

Thanks again!
Runcorn Cycle Club & Frodsham Wheelers

paul cheers runcorn cc

Hatton 10 TT Handicap Rider Times – 16th September 2017

Baiker, AndyRCC27:5205:3722:151
Arundale, DavidFWCC25:1402:5122:232
Buckley, AlexRCC31:4009:1522:253
Connor, AmyRCC26:1203:4422:284
Jones, StewartRCC29:0106:2022:415
McGregor, RobFWCC25:5803:1622:426
Green, RobRCC22:4400:0022:447
Hampson, NathanRCC35:0612:1622:508
Leadbeater, MichaelRCC24:1101:1123:009
Phillips, DelRCC27:2704:2323:0410
Cheers, PaulRCC25:2302:1723:0611
Taylor, LukeInde26:2303:1523:0812
Smith, DeanInde24:5801:3323:2513
Lloyd, StuartFWCC25:3501:5823:3714
Flynn, JohnFWCC25:5802:1723:4115
Hampson, MarkRCC30:2006:2723:5316
Forster, RoyFWCC27:2003:1224:0817

Inde = Independent, RCC = Runcorn Cycle Club, FWCC = Frodsham Wheelers Cycling Club, H/cap = Handicap adjustment.

rider celebrations hatton 10 handicap event 2017

silver medal time trial winner
Silver medal winner.

Runcorn & Frodsham group photo hatton 10 time trial

hatton 10 time trials logo vector

More Photos from the day

If you like this please click an icon below to share it :

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *